Plowing match crowns top plowmen, Ontario Queen of the Furrow

Sep 26, 2023

After four days of fierce competition, the judges at the International Plowing Match and Rural Expo tallied the scores and announced the winners at the Celebration of Excellence gala.

Scott Thomas of Elmwood with 493 (also the winner of the Lloyd Vandusen Award) and Terry Linton of Roseneath with 468 points were named the Champion and Reserve Champion International Plowing Match and Rural Expo (IPM) Champion Horse Plow Person.

The winners earn the right to compete next year in the Canadian Plowing Championships in Wolfe Island, Kingston, Ontario in August.

Representing Ontario next year will be:

Junior Champions: Austin Brodhaecker of Ayr with 572 points; and Alex Cameron of Owen Sound with 506.5 points (also the winner of the Barb McAllistir Memorial Scholarship).

Ontario Championship Tractor Plowing with a Conventional Plow: Brian Davenport of Owen Sound with 604.5 points; and Patrick Sanders of Alvinston with 585 points.

Ontario Championship Tractor Plowing with a Reversible Plow: Daryl Hostrawser of East Garafraxa with 613 points; and Bob Campsall of Cannington with 596 points.

Other award winners included Fred and Helen Davenport Memorial Award — Austin McLeod of Cottam; John S. Moffat Memorial Trophy — Richard Elliott of Strathroy, Champion and Reserve to Colin Doughtery of Scotland; IPM Champion Antique Award — Richard Elliott; and the IPM Champion Tractor Award — Gene Gruber of Richmond, Champion and Reserve to Daryl Hostrawser.

Click here to see more...
Subscribe to our Newsletters

Trending Video