Bibeau announces second cohort of Canadian Agricultural Youth Council

Aug 12, 2022

Subscribe to our Newsletters

On Thursday, Marie-Claude Bibeau, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, unveiled the names of the members who will form the second cohort of the Canadian Agricultural Youth Council (CAYC). The inaugural meeting of this new group of 25 young people will be held later this summer. The members of this cohort will serve 18-month terms.

Representatives from Manitoba include Chantele Gouliquer and Boma N-Chris.

"I was impressed by the energy and enthusiasm of the first cohort of the Canadian Agricultural Youth Council and look forward to working with this new group. Young people's perspectives on issues such as sustainable agriculture, innovation, intergenerational transfers, mental health and work-life balance allow us to shape the sector's future in their image," said Bibeau.

The renewed Council will see 15 new faces joining the ten returning members serving a second term. Together, this second cohort of the Youth Council represents subsectors from across the agriculture and agri-food value chain.

The Council's main task is to ensure that the perspectives of youth in agriculture are well understood, and to help inform on policy, programs, planning and decision-making.

The Canadian Agricultural Youth Council was created in July 2020 with a group of 25 young people representing a diverse mix of people from the agriculture and agri-food sub-sectors, as well as from each province and the North.

The first cohort of the Canadian Agricultural Youth Council commented on and guided significant government initiatives, including AgriCommunication and the Sustainable Canadian Agricultural Partnership and represented Canada's position on youth in agriculture in various international forums.

Click here to see more...

Trending Video

Winter Pulse Meeting: Part 1

Video: Winter Pulse Meeting: Part 1

Saskatchewan Pulse Growers - Jan 25 Winter Pulse Meeting: Part 1