RJ Sigurdson in as Alberta ag minister

RJ Sigurdson in as Alberta ag minister
Jun 09, 2023

Premier Danielle Smith introduced her new cabinet Friday

By Diego Flammini
Staff Writer

Alberta’s ag sector has a new representative in the provincial legislature.

Premier Danielle Smith appointed RJ Sigurdson, the MLA for Highwood as the new minister of agriculture and irrigation during a cabinet swearing in ceremony on June 9.

Sigurdson grew up on a 40-acre “farm north of Cochrane, spending the early years of his life raising horses, cattle and farming,” his United Conservative Party biography says.

He also has extensive experience as a red seal sheet metal worker.

Former ag minister Nate Horner remains in Premier Smith’s cabinet.

He will serve as minister of finance and president of the treasury board.

Including the premier, 25 people make up the provincial cabinet.

Other appointees include:

  • Mike Ellis as deputy premier and minister of public safety and emergency services
  • Adriana LaGrange as minister of health
  • Rebecca Schulz as minister of environment and protected areas
  • Dan Williams as minister of mental health and addiction.
Subscribe to our Newsletters

Trending Video