Ontario agri-food innovators celebrated in Cambridge

Nov 10, 2015

13 recipients were honoured in a ceremony Monday

By Diego Flammini, Farms.com

Thirteen recipients were honoured at a ceremony in Cambridge, Ontario on Monday morning celebrating their contributions and innovations towards strengthening the province’s agri-food industry and economy.

The winners, representing the counties of Grey, Perth, Simcoe, and Wellington, as well as Waterloo Region, received the 2015 Premier’s Award for Agri-Food Innovation Excellence.


“I’m so proud to be part of today’s celebration and honoured to meet the entrepreneurial recipients of the 2015 Premier’s Award for Agri-Food Innovation Excellence,” said Kathryn McGarry, MPP for Cambridge. “Each year, I am blown away by the fresh ideas our farmers come up with to make Ontario even better. These are creative individuals who are helping Ontario’s agri-food sector succeed with projects that are benefitting not only businesses and local communities, but Ontario as a whole.”

The winners included:

  • Beef Improvement Ontario
  • Best Baa Dairy
  • Bighead Hops
  • Clear Valley Hops
  • Escarpment Laboratories
  • Harvest Hop & Malt
  • Jewels Under the Kilt
  • Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency
  • Paul Bechtel
  • Perth County Ingredients
  • Rural Ontario Institute
  • Stratford & District Agricultural Society
  • The New Farm

In total, 50 recipients will take home a Premier’s Award for Agri-Food Innovation Excellence, reaffirming Ontario’s position as an agri-food leader in Canada.

“Ontario is known for its leading-edge agri-food sector that continues to grow and foster new innovation and ideas,” said Ontario Minister of Agriculture Jeff Leal. “The 2015 Premier’s Award for Agri-Food Innovation Excellence recipients demonstrate creative and ingenious ideas and business concepts. By investing in the success of people and a dynamic and innovative business climate, our government is helping drive the sector’s growth and position Ontario for economic success both at home and abroad.”

Congratulations to the winners!

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Trending Video