Nomination period open for Missouri Agricultural Awards

Sep 24, 2015

Nominations must be submitted by October 30th

By Diego Flammini,

Farmers in Missouri have been keeping tables full and families fed for centuries and the Missouri Department of Agriculture is taking steps to honor today’s farmers through the Missouri Agriculture Awards.

Award ribbon

The awards look to recognize farmers, the commitments to their local communities, land stewardship and the impact they have on the younger generations to promote a career as a farmer.

Nominees can be entered into ballots for one of six awards:

Missouri Agriculture Environmental Steward Award
The award is given to a producer who shows great care for the land and environment through soil management, animal advances, reducing nutrient losses and other criteria. Part of the judging will be on the farmer’s current methods and how they will meet future challenges.

Missouri Farm Innovation Award
The award goes to a farmer who has implemented new innovations on their farm whether it be efficiency practices, technology or marketing methods. Nominees will be judged on current methods and how they plan to meet future challenges.

Missouri Agriculture Education Award
The award goes to an educator who highlights the importance of agricultural education and how it helps shape farmers of the future. Nominees will be judged on their impact on youth in agriculture.

Missouri Food Animal Veterinarian
The award will be presented to someone who goes above the regular call of duty to protect the health and welfare of food animals.

Missouri Agriculture Legacy Award
A farmer that shows exemplary leadership in their field will receive this award. This award will be given to one farmer who falls under each of the following categories: soybean, corn, pork, poultry, cattle, forestry, dairy, rice and cotton.

Missouri Agriculture Volunteer Award
The award goes to someone who donates their time volunteering and improving Missouri agriculture through involvement in their community.

Nominations can be submitted by an organization, group or individual on behalf of a Missouri farmer they believe is deserving of the awards. Nominations must be entered by Friday, October 30th, 2015 at 5:00pm.

Join the conversation and tell us about a Missouri farmer who stands out and could win an award.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Trending Video