Alberta Ag Hall of Fame accepting nominations

Alberta Ag Hall of Fame accepting nominations
Feb 15, 2024

The deadline to submit a name is May 3, 2024

By Diego Flammini
Staff Writer

Now is the time for members of Alberta’s ag community to nominate a peer deserving of a spot in the province’s ag hall of fame.

Albertans have until May 3, 2024, to submit the name of someone who has “demonstrated leadership in farm, rural or commodity organizations or in the food industry,” the application page says. “Leadership must have been demonstrated over many years at the provincial level, and the candidate must have made a significant province-wide impact on the industry as a whole.”

The ag hall of fame welcomes new members every two years.

After the nominations are received, Deputy Agriculture Minister Jason Hale will appoint a selection panel to examine the candidates and select up to three inductees.

The most recent class of inductions occurred in 2022.

The inductees included Simone Demers-Collins, an ag advocate, educator and 4-H leader. spoke with Demers-Collins following her induction announcement.

Alberta inducted its first ag hall of fame class in 1951.

That class consisted of:

  • Dr. Henry Wise Wood, the first president of the United Farmers of Alberta and the Alberta Wheat Pool.
  • Charles Noble, who developed and manufactured his own farming implements like the Noble blade. In 1982, the company he founded was sold to Versatile Manufacturing.
  • Joe Johnson, the first herdsman at the University of Alberta Farm, and
  • Claude Gallinger, who developed the largest herd of shorthorns in Canada and established the Killearn bloodline as standard.
Subscribe to our Newsletters

Trending Video


Your email address will not be published