4-H Ontario honours new volunteers

4-H Ontario honours new volunteers
Aug 26, 2021

Six leaders from different regions were recognized for their dedication and enthusiasm 

By Jackie Clark
Staff Writer

Earlier this week, 4-H Ontario announced 6 recipients of the 4-H Ontario Outstanding New Club Leader Award.

The recipients are members of the 4-H community from across the province that have been volunteers for less than three years. 

“In only a few years, these dedicated individuals have contributed in tremendously impactful ways and our program is better for having them involved,” says Megan Burnside-Poitras, volunteer support team lead, in an August 24 statement

Awardees are:
•    Rachel Skippen 

Rachel Skippen
Skippen is a leader in the Manitoulin 4-H Association, including leading the Beef club and Basic Sewing clubs, along with the Cloverbud Program, and readily volunteers her time to assist with events and encourage youth participants. 
•    Denise Beaudette-Manley 

Denise Beaudette-Manley
Beaudette-Manley has led eight clubs in the Stormont 4-H Association, including the Scrapbooking club. She’s described by participants as optimistic, enthusiastic and inclusive. 
•    April-Jean Hickson

April-Jean Hickson
Hickson passionately volunteers in the Kawartha Lakes Haliburton 4-H Association. She worked to adapt judging competitions and clubs to a virtual format during the COVID-19 pandemic. 
•    Robert Matson

Robert Matson
Matson is a volunteer, leader and member of the board of directors in the Peel 4-H Association. Participants look up to him as a selfless and gracious mentor. 
•    Jessica Bester

Jessica Bester
Bester works hard to provide safe and engaging programming for youth in the Grey 4-H Association. She has run the Rabbit and Sheep clubs, and worked to adapt programming to COVID-19 restrictions. 
•    Alison Buckrell

Alison Buckrell
Buckrell serves her community in the Oxford 4-H Association, as well as other county activities. She’s described as an encouraging mentor who leads by example. 

The Outstanding New Club Leader Award is sponsored by Gay Lea Foods, who provide a custom print to each recipient. 

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Trending Video