Sask Pork welcomes new board of directors and executive

Jul 25, 2022

Sask Pork has announced its 2021-23 provincial Board of Directors. Toby Tschetter of Star City Farming Co. (Star City, SK); Jay McGrath of Sinnett Pork Farm Ltd. (Leroy, SK.); John Beckton of Brock Stock Farm Ltd. (Saskatoon, SK); Jason Hofer of Spring Lake Farming Co. (Swift Current, SK); Casey Smit of Olymel (Humboldt, SK); and Dickson Gould of The Progressive Group of Companies (Niverville, MB) will make up the new board.

At the first meeting of the Board of Directors held this week in Saskatoon, directors elected the 2021-23 Executive.  Toby Tschetter was elected Chair, Jay McGrath was elected Vice-Chair and John Beckton will hold the Audit Chair position.

“I’m really looking forward to continuing the great work already happening at Sask Pork. We will continue to build on the foundation set by previous boards, and capitalize on the growing demand for hogs and opportunities for Canadian pork,” said incoming Sask Pork Board Chair Toby Tschetter. 

“On behalf of Sask Pork, I would like to extend a sincere thank you to our outgoing board and executive members and offer a warm welcome to our new board members and executive in their new roles.   We look forward to their support and guidance in helping fulfill Sask Pork’s role in growing and advocating for the Saskatchewan hog industry as well as providing programs and services to Saskatchewan’s community of hog producers.”  

Sask Pork represents hog farmers across Saskatchewan who market over 2 million hogs annually.  Hog production is the third most significant agricultural sector in Saskatchewan, behind grains and oilseeds and beef production.  Saskatchewan’s hog industry accounts for over 1,000 direct and indirect jobs and contributes significantly to the local economy in both rural and urban areas.