GGC elects new executive, thanks Jeff Nielsen and Shane Stokke for service

Dec 08, 2020

Subscribe to our Newsletters
Ottawa, ON – Following their 2020 annual general meeting, the Grain Growers of Canada (GGC) board of directors have elected Andre Harpe as the new chair with William van Tassel and Brendan Phillips as vice-chairs.
“I look forward to continuing this organization’s rich history of representing grain farmers across our country,” said Harpe, who hails from Valhalla Centre, AB. “Our new executive team will continue to push an ambitious agenda, and advocate for the needs of our critically important sector to policy makers and legislators.”
On behalf of Canada’s grain farmers, the GGC board would also like to thank outgoing chair Jeff Nielsen and vice-chair Shane Stokke for their service to the organization.
Nielsen has been on the GGC executive since 2015, having served as chair for the past two years. He was originally appointed to the GGC board in 2015 and served as vice-president in Nov. 2015 and president in 2016 – prior to the organization’s restructuring in 2018.
“When I look at my time here, I think I am going to be most proud of how we all came together to remake this organization in a way that worked for everyone,” reflected Nielsen.
“I am more confident now than ever about the future of GGC, and, for that, I would like thank everyone on the board, staff, and leadership team for their commitment and dedication.”
Source : GGC

Trending Video

Chops and Crops Virtual Roundtable

Video: Chops and Crops Virtual Roundtable

Watch our nine commodity commissions - Alberta Canola, Alberta Wheat Commission, Alberta Barley, Alberta Pulse Growers, Alberta Potatoes, Prairie Oat Growers Association, Alberta Sugar Beet Growers, Alberta Pork and Alberta Beekeepers Association; chat with Agriculture & Forestry Minister Devin Dreeshen about key policies issues related to our producers. Hosted by Dianne Finstead, a freelance agriculture broadcaster.