APG’s New Chair is Dedicated to Working with New Board Towards Pulses on Every Farm, On Every Plate

Jan 31, 2023

The new Chair of the Alberta Pulse Growers Commission (APG) is keen to work with the new and experienced members of the Board of Directors to achieve the vision of pulses on every farm, on every plate.

Shane Strydhorst of Neerlandia was elected to the role of Chair following last week’s annual general meeting. He took over the position from Smoky Lake’s Robert Semeniuk, who becomes Past-Chair.

“I’m looking forward to continuing the great work this Board has started under Robert’s leadership to maximize opportunities for Alberta’s pulse farmers,” Strydhorst said. “The addition of two new directors will bring fresh perspectives as we continue promoting and building upon economic benefits of growing peas, beans, faba beans, lentils, chickpeas and soybeans, as well as the sustainability of our industry. I expect to share news about more successes very soon.”

Strydhorst grows peas, faba beans and other crops alongside his wife Sheri. He will lead an Executive Committee that includes new Vice-Chair Peter Konstapel of Spirit River (Zone 4) and Semeniuk (Zone 5).

Peter Hoff of Gleichen and Scott Keller of New Norway joined the Board following the AGM as Directors for Zone 2 and Zone 5 respectively.

Click here to see more...
Subscribe to our Newsletters

Trending Video