Agricultural and Food Sciences grads celebrate at Spring Convocation 2024

Jun 19, 2024

At the University of Manitoba Spring Convocation session on June 6, parchments were presented to the graduates from the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences. The Class of 2024 includes 49 Diploma in Agriculture, 139 Bachelor of Science, 38 MSc/MEng and 12 PhD graduates.


Diploma medal winners include Callum Fortin who received the Governor General’s Bronze Medal, an award given to the graduate with the highest academic standing in the two-year Diploma Program in Agriculture.

Riley Kehler received the President’s Medal, given annually to a student who combines scholarship with outstanding qualities and has demonstrated leadership to the members of the graduating class throughout their time enrolled in their program.

Degree program medals are presented to students with the highest standing in their program. This year’s recipients include Andrew De Pape who received the B.Sc. (Agribusiness) Medal; Milan Lukes who received the B.Sc. (Agriculture) Medal; Maryna Plaksii who received the B.Sc. (Agroecology) Medal; Thuc Quyen Nguyen who received the B.Sc. (Food Science) Medal; and Zeta Ward who received the B.Sc. (Human Nutritional Sciences) Medal.

Mireille Krul who graduated with a B.Sc. (Agriculture) in Animal Systems was honoured with the University Gold Medal in Agricultural and Food Sciences given for the highest grade point average.

Milan Lukes who graduated with a B.Sc. (Agriculture) in Plant Biotechnology was awarded the Lieutenant Governor’s Gold Medal, given on the basis of scholarship, personal excellence and leadership.

Joel Gardener was honoured with the Governor General’s Gold Medal (Ph.D), awarded for outstanding achievement at the doctoral graduate level.

The School of Agriculture Teacher of the Year Awards were presented in recognition of teaching excellence and contribution to the students’ program of study. The First Year award, selected by first-year diploma students, was given to Bailey Delf, School of Agriculture. The Second Year award, selected by the graduating class of diploma students, went to Garrett Sawatzky, School of Agriculture.

Degree students named Kathleen Wilson, School of Agriculture, as Professor of the Year, an honour voted on by the graduating class.

Click here to see more...
Subscribe to our Newsletters

Trending Video