Home   Expert Commentary

OFA announces 80th anniversary bursary winners (2016)

Nov 22, 2016

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Three post-secondary students received Ontario Federation (OFA) of Agriculture’s 80th anniversary bursary today at the organization’s annual general meeting. Anita Rastapkevicuis from Elgin County, Cassidy Smith from Stormont County and Logan Emiry from Sudbury District were each awarded $3,500 to help with their post-secondary education in an agricultural program.

Winners were selected for their volunteer and agricultural industry related accomplishments, interest in agriculture and rural issues, community involvement and academic performance.
A fourth year University of Guelph student, Anita Rastapkevicius is completing her Bachelor’s Degree in Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics (FARE) with a minor in Agronomy. Anita was raised on a fruit, vegetable and cash crop operation in West Lorne, ON.

Cassidy Smith comes from a family farm in Berwick, ON and is in her second year of the Farm Management and Technology program at McGill University.
Logan Emiry is in his first year at University of Guelph in the Agriculture Science program and comes from a dairy farm in Massey, ON.

The bursary competition was open to students of OFA member families entering or currently pursuing a post-secondary education in an agricultural program.  Winners were awarded regionally, with one winner from northern, eastern and southwestern Ontario.

The Ontario Federation of Agriculture (OFA) is the largest general farm organization in Ontario, representing 36,000 farm families across the province. As a dynamic farmer-led organization based in Guelph, the OFA works to represent and champion the interests of Ontario farmers through government relations, farm policy recommendations, research, lobby efforts, community representation, media relations and more. OFA is the leading advocate for Ontario’s farmers and is Ontario’s voice of the farmer.

Source: OFA