Fresh faces on USDA science advisory board

May 17, 2024


The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) recently announced new members of the National Agricultural Research, Extension, Education, and Economics (NAREEE) Advisory Board. This board plays a key role in shaping research priorities for the food and agricultural sectors.

The NAREEE Board welcomes a range of expertise. New appointees include Dr. Jane Schuchardt, an organic farmer, and Mr. Edwin Kitzes, Land Grant Director at the United Tribes Technical College. Reappointed members include Dr. Mario Ferruzzi, a professor at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, and Dr. Ellen Harris, a former executive director of Food First.

"These experts offer valuable insights," said Dr. Chavonda Jacobs-Young, the USDA's Chief Scientist. Their diverse perspectives will guide research that strengthens our food system and ensures its benefits reach everyone.

NAREE Board committees delve deeper into specific research areas. New committee members include Dr. William Lytle, CEO of Evergreen International Sustainability Solutions, and Dr. Margaret Smith, a professor at Cornell University.

The USDA looks forward to working with these new advisors. Their combined knowledge will be instrumental in setting research directions that promote a more secure and equitable food system for all.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Trending Video